The new apps for Facebook Timeline extend, again, the privacy limit on Facebook.
Once authorized, they can publish messages in your Timeline without your approval. Find out 5 things you should know before using Facebook Timeline!
Facebook bets on Timeline apps. A few days ago Facebook presented 60 new applications. There are however a few things worth focusing on before authorizing too many apps.
1. Your actions will be visible all over
The “Open Graph” system implemented by Facebook has a direct effect on the information in your profile. After installing one app, the information published in your account will not be restricted to Timeline.
Activities connected to apps will appear all over your Facebook account, from News Feed to Ticker and on the main page of your Facebook profile.
2. Apps only need you to authorize them once
Facebook implemented a new protocol for apps permissions. So, once you authorize a application, it will continue to do so without you being aware.
3. Timeline can stop using chronological order
Something that can be considered unpleasant by some users is the modification of the Timeline by installed apps.
Normally, activities are organized by year and month, but some apps will be able to occupy priority positions in the Timeline, based on the revenue they generate on Facebook.
Even if your last activity was to update your Facebook status, Facebook will decide which messages are “Top Stories” and will present the most recent ones.
4. Friends lists, more useful then ever
Because they became the main tool to control who sees information about you, the list of friends are very useful in controlling applications installed in the Timeline.
In the “Friends” menu, choose the “Custom” setting and create lists of friends, useful to make app inf oration visible for narrower groups in your Facebook friends list.
5. You can revoke the permissions of a application at any time
If you are no longer happy with the information in your account by installed apps, you can revoke or restrict their rights.
In the “App Settings” menu you can delete apps by using the “X” button or you can use the “Edit” option to modify the rights of applications.